Teen Reviews



January 27, 2012

Pretty Little Liars  / Sara Shephard

Pretty Little Liars
by Sara Shephard

Check Catalog »

This book is one of the best books I've ever read! It's mysterious, yet scary and intriguing at the same time. After I started the book, I couldn't put it down! Now I see why they made it and ABC Family show.

reviewed by Marcia D., age 14, Maumelle Library patron


December 20, 2011

One Night that Changes Everything  / Lauren Barnholdt

One Night that Changes Everything
by Lauren Barnholdt

Check Catalog »

In the story, there is a girl named Eliza and she lost her purple notebook – the notebook that lists everything she is afraid to do. In the end, she got her notebook back, and she realized that her friends are true, and she gave her boyfriend another chance.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 11, Rooker Library patron


November 3, 2011

Flash Burnout / L.K. Madigan

Flash Burnout
by L.K. Madigan

Check Catalog »

Flash Burnout is a really creative book that kept my attention throughout. Its plot was new and interesting, but it was hard for me to relate with the main character. He was obsessed with sex and that bothered me. Basically the whole book is about that. I loved the running theme of photography and how the author connected it to each chapter.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 16, Rooker Library patron


October 25, 2011

The Warlock / Michael Scott

The Warlock
by Michael Scott

Check Catalog »

It's the 5th book in the Nicholas Flamel series. It's such a good book. I strongly suggest, however, that if you would like to read this book you start with the 1st book. Otherwise, you have to read this! Especially if you love magic and mythology.

reviewed by Linda C., age 17, Rooker Library patron

Paper Covers Rock / Jenny Hubbard

Paper Covers Rock
by Jenny Hubbard

Check Catalog »

It's a thrilling book about the guilt of a young boy a month after his friend has died. Though there is aggressive language and some naughty bits in it, it's an okay book.

reviewed by Linda C., age 17, Rooker Library patron


September 12, 2011

Night World: Secret Vampire / L.J. Smith

Night World: Secret Vampire
by L.J. Smith

Check Catalog »

I thought that this book was both thrilling and sad.  I enjoyed it and this book was not a waste of time.  So vampire, werewolf, and witch lovers get ready to read!

reviewed by Hannah S., age 12, Maumelle Library patron

One Piece (manga series) / Eiichiro Oda

One Piece
by Eiichiro Oda

Check Catalog »

Best Manga series ever! I was totally captivated at first glance and could not stop reading! Action, adventure, and loads of comedy.  Highly recommended.

reviewed by Amanda J., age 15, Maumelle Library patron

Deadline / Chris Crutcher

Deadline
by Chris Crutcher

Check Catalog »

One of the best books I’ve ever read! The kind of novel that reminds you to Carpe Diem because life’s too short not to.  Loved it was a boy’s perspective.

reviewed by Leann C., age 17, Maumelle Library patron

Lord of the Flies / William Golding

Lord of the Flies
by William Golding

Check Catalog »

Amazing! I was literally captivated as I began to read and could not put it down.  A little bit of a tough read, but once you get used to it the words seem to flow freely.  Also a bit of a tear jerker.

reviewed by Amanda J., age 15, Maumelle Library patron

Burn / Suzanne Phillips

Burn
by Suzanne Phillips

Check Catalog »

It is a good book if you are dealing with any kind of bullying.  But the way the person handled it is not the correct way.

reviewed by Alec P., age 14, Maumelle Library patron


September 8, 2011

The Steampunk Bible / Jeff VanderMeer

The Steampunk Bible
by Jeff VanderMeer

Check Catalog »

For those who don't know what steampunk is, read the book.

For those who want to make a transition into steampunk, read the book…vigorously.

The Steampunk Bible explains everything about the movement that is breaking into the mainstream. Whether you need a book to read or you want to walk around in a corset, read this book!

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron

Cleopatra Confesses / Carolyn Meyers

Cleopatra Confesses
by Carolyn Meyers

Check Catalog »

It's such a good book. Cleopatra Confesses gives a dramatic insight on the complicated life of one of the most famous women of the Ancient World. If you're a history buff, then you must absolutely read this book!

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron


September 2, 2011

The Twin's Daughter / Lauren Baratz-Logsted

The Twin's Daughter
by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Check Catalog »

This book was written aondrously. The mystery kept me guessing and looking for hidden clues until the last page. And, of course, it was shot through with just enough romance to keep me happy.

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Main Library patron


August 31, 2011

The Hunger Games / Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

Check Catalog »

It was a good book; it had a lot of action in it. I’m waiting to read the next one which is Catching Fire and then Mockingjay. I think those will be even better.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 13, Sanders Library patron


August 29, 2011

Mixed Bags / Melody Carlson

Mixed Bags
by Melody Carlson

Check Catalog »

This book was so amazing! It was incredible how the author could write what happens today in our world! I encourage everyone to read this book!

reviewed by Elizabeth F., age 13, Sanders Library patron

TRASH / Sharon Darrow

TRASH
by Sharon Darrow

Check Catalog »

I love this book because the poetry is amazing! When you read this book you can also picture the story in your mind! The fact that “Sissy” and “boy” grew up the way they did – it makes you wanna keep reading what will happen next! This is my 3rd time reading this book.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 14, Sanders Library patron

Where She Went / Gayle Foreman

Where She Went
by Gayle Foreman

Check Catalog »

“Where She Went” is the sequel to “If I Stay”. Set three years later, Mia and Adam have been apart, she a famous cellist and he a rock musician. Their paths cross in NYC and they discuss their past and the accident that killed her family and tore them apart.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 16, Sanders Library patron

Once Trilogy / Morris Gleitzman

Once Trilogy
by Morris Gleitzman

Check Catalog »

“Once”, “Then” and “Now” are a trilogy seen through a young Jewish boy’s perspective during the Holocaust in Poland. In the first two novels, Felix and a German girl, Zelda, are hiding from Nazi forces and the third book continues the story 70 years later with Felix and his granddaughter who is also named Zelda. These books are written in a simple language that puts the reader in the child’s perspective but they are also very gripping and fast paced.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 16, Sanders Library patron


August 2, 2011

Pollyanna / Eleanor H. Porter

Pollyanna
by Eleanor H. Porter

Check Catalog »

It was great. Motivated you to “just be glad.” I liked it because Pollyanna had a way of making everyone happy.

reviewed by Audrey S., age 11, Maumelle Library patron

Soul Surfer

Soul Surfer

Check Catalog »

I liked how it was very similar to the book. Most movies lack that.

reviewed by Seth P., age 12, Maumelle Library patron

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl

Check Catalog »

Great characters, great plot, great everything! This is my favorite movie ever! It is so adventurous and exciting.

reviewed by Bailey S., age 14, Maumelle Library patron

A Wrinkle in Time / Madeleine L’Engle

A Wrinkle in Time
by Madeleine L’Engle

Check Catalog »

Although I’m not usually a big fan of science-fiction, this book was good. Though the long names, etc. were a little confusing, it was still suspenseful and exciting.

reviewed by Bailey S., age 14, Maumelle Library patron


July 28, 2011

When In Rome

When In Rome

Check Catalog »

This movie was SO romantic and I just melted at the end. My sister and I awwed at the same time. And of course it helped that the guy was BEAUTIFUL! For real.

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Rooker Library patron

Practical Magic

Practical Magic

Check Catalog »

The movie was good, but there was a very odd part where someone had to be in a special hexing circle and they were thrashing and it wasn't entertaining for me. But it really was good.

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Rooker Library patron

The Holiday

The Holiday

Check Catalog »

My sister and I watched this movie together and we really related to the characters despite the age difference. It was well written, and very romatic and entertaining.

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Rooker Library patron

Insidious

Insidious

Check Catalog »

I LOVED this movie so much. When I saw it at the movies, I was so scared, but I loved it. It made my friend drop the popcorn! I loved the end and I can't wait till the second movie.

reviewed by Claudia G., age 12, Rooker Library patron

Major Crush / Jennifer Echols

Major Crush
by Jennifer Echols

Check Catalog »

It was so funny! The humor was dry and witty and I loved it. It is the best one of the ten rmances I have read. The author is BRILLIANT!

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Rooker Library patron

Miss Match / Wendy Tolliver

Miss Match
by Wendy Tolliver

Check Catalog »

I LOVED IT! It was so romantic. I'm REALLY into romance and first kisses and stuff like that. It also reminded me of myself. I hook my friends up with boys all the time, and now one of the boys likes me!

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Rooker Library patron

Perfect Shot / Debbie Rigaud

Perfect Shot
by Debbie Rigaud

Check Catalog »

It was very realistic. When London and Kelley fought and bickered and were terrible to each other, neither of them won the pageant. I enjoyed the reality of the book.

reviewed by Victoria T., age 13, Rooker Library patron


July 27, 2011

Tales from Outer Suburbia / Shaun Tan

Tales from Outer Suburbia
by Shaun Tan

Check Catalog »

A great collection of stories that captivate the mind. Each story brings something new and wondrous to the metaphoric table that everyone keeps talking about.

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron

You Killed Wesley Payne / Sean Beaudoin

You Killed Wesley Payne
by Sean Beaudoin

Check Catalog »

This is a fantastic book. Dalton Rev, a private detective, is trying to solve a case at Salt River High (a school full of money-loving cliques who begin to fight for power) to find out who killed Wesley Payne. Though Dalton isn't a good detective (per se), with help he finds the killer (but doesn't get the girl). It's a comical story and a great modern mystery read. It'll keep you on your toes and you WILL NOT believe who killed Wesley Payne.

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron

The Piper's Son / Melina Marchetta

The Piper's Son
by Melina Marchetta

Check Catalog »

The Piper's Son is an uplifting story of Tom Mackee and his family. After the death of Tom's Uncle Joe, Tom's father goes off the deep end, his mom moves away, and Tom ends up staying with his aunt (who is pregnant by her ex-husband). Tom rebuilds lost friendships, makes new ones, and connects with his old girlfriend (who he had a one-and-a-half-night stand with). Despite the elaborate scale of cussing and some sexual content, it's a really great read.

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron

Doctor Who and Philosophy: Bigger on the Inside / Courtland Lewis and Paula Smithka

Doctor Who and Philosophy: Bigger on the Inside
edited by Courtland Lewis and Paula Smithka

Check Catalog »

This book is for Doctor Who fans. It makes philosophy seem less complicated and more fantastic. Through this book, one can understand the Doctor better (because he is just so complicated) and get a new enlightenment on Daleks as well as Cybermen and Carrionites (turns out they really can't exist, though I still think they can). It is a molto bene book with brilliant Doctor Who references.

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron


July 14, 2011

The Kite Runner / Khaled Hosseini

The Kite Runner
by Khaled Hosseini

Check Catalog »

The Kite Runner is an emotional novel. It's very sad and painful. Yet the novel progresses your mind to see things in a different way. I love the book and I recommend it to everyone.

reviewed by Elma A., age 14, Thompson Library patron

The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group / Catherine Jinks

The Abused Werewolf Rescue Group
by Catherine Jinks

Check Catalog »

It's an amazing story! It takes the whole 'werewolf thing' to a whole new level. It's witty, funny, and it's got an ending that is absolutely perfect.

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron

The Werewolf Handbook / Robert Curran

The Werewolf Handbook
by Robert Curran

Check Catalog »

It's a book on how to spot werewolves, how werewolves become werewolves (there are more ways than you think) and different types of werewolves. It even gives you werewolf stories. I highly recommend it.

reviewed by Linda C., age 16, Rooker Library patron

A Smart Girl's Guide to Style / Sharon Cindrich

A Smart Girl's Guide to Style
by Sharon Cindrich

Check Catalog »

Has a bunch of useful tips on fashion. Has many different styles that you can recreate.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 13, Thompson Library patron

Halo: First Strike / Eric S. Nylund

Halo: First Strike
by Eric S. Nylund

Check Catalog »

The book had many fights and was intriguing so much. The book also made me want to read other books in the series.

reviewed by Zach B, age 12, Thompson Library patron


July 7, 2011

Taken / Edward Bloor

Taken
by Edward Bloor

Check Catalog »

I liked the way each of the characters had their own story, but all stories connected with each other.

reviewed by Jhordan U., age 13, Maumelle Library patron

The Hunger Games / Suzanne Collins

The Hunger Games
by Suzanne Collins

Check Catalog »

Every year in all 12 districts one boy and one girl fight to the death. Very addicting.

reviewed by Alec P., age 13, Maumelle Library patron

A Study in Scarlet: A Sherlock Holmes Graphic Novel  /  Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

A Study in Scarlet: A Sherlock Holmes Graphic Novel
adapted from the original novel Sir Arthur Conan Doyle

Check Catalog »

A very entertaining graphic novel about Sherlock Holmes. There are surprising twists and the illustrations tell a great story too.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 15

The River / Mary Jane Beaufrand

The River
by Mary Jane Beaufrand

Check Catalog »

A sad story but keeps you on the edge of your seat wondering what’s going to happen next.

reviewed by Rebecca J., age 16, Maumelle Library patron

Romeo and Juliet  / William Shakespeare

Romeo and Juliet
by William Shakespeare

Check Catalog »

Two hearts destined to be apart by means of their parents, written into beautiful poetry. It starts off beautiful and exciting, gradually reaching suspense, and ending solemnly with a lesson learned. Just as the great Shakespeare said, ‘Never was there a time of more woe, than the story of Juliet, and her dear Romeo’.

reviewed by Anonymous, age 13

Wishful Thinking: a Novel  / Alexandria Butler

Wishful Thinking: a Novel
by Alexandria Butler

Check Catalog »

A heartfelt story about finding your true self.

reviewed by Rebecca J., age 16, Maumelle Library patron