About Us

About the Central Arkansas Library System

The Central Arkansas Library System, with its headquarters at the main Little Rock Main Library, serves a local population of 335,554 and is the largest public Arkansas library system. Its fourteen libraries are located in the City of Little Rock (Main Little Rock Library and eight branches), Pulaski County (Wrightsville, Jacksonville, Sherwood, and Maumelle, AR), and Perry County (Perryville, AR). The Central Arkansas Library System serves an additional state-wide population of nearly one million users through the Gateway Project. The system contains over 1 million volumes and is the largest collection in central Arkansas. In 2014, there were over 2.2 million visits to Central Arkansas Library System branches, and users checked out over 2.7 million items.